IUSM Alumni Weekend to be held May 16 to 17

May 1, 2014

The 2014 IU School of Medicine Alumni Weekend, hosted by the IUSM Alumni Association, will be May 16 and 17. Members of the Medical Classes of 1947, 1949, 1954, 1959, 1964, 1969 and 1989 are invited to participate in this year's event.


IUSM Alumni Weekend is May 16-17.

Alumni will participate in activities that will include tours of the medical school, Eskenazi Hospital, the Glick Eye Institute and the Indiana State Medical History Museum.

Participants will also get the chance to attend a reception from 6 to 7:15 p.m. Friday, May 16, with Jay L. Hess, M.D., Ph.D., dean of the IU School of Medicine and IU vice president for university clinical affairs, who officially began his new duties as the 10th dean of the School on Sept. 1, 2013.

A highlight of IUSM Alumni Weekend will be the 67th Annual Strawberry Shortcake Luncheon from 11:15 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday, May 17, at the NCAA Headquarters, 700 W. Washington St., Indianapolis. This annual tradition will honor four recipients of the IUSM Alumni Association Annual Awards:

  • Sharon P. Andreoli, M.D.’78, Residency ’81, Byron P. & Frances D. Hollett Professor of Pediatrics at the IU School of Medicine, and William E. Segar, M.D.’47, Residency ’51, will be named IUSM Distinguished Alumni. This award recognizes outstanding alumni of the school who have brought honor to their alma mater by distinguishing themselves either professionally or by giving extraordinary service to the school. Drs. Andreoli and Segar are pediatric nephrologists at Riley Hospital for Children at IU Health and the University of Wisconsin Medical Center, respectively.
  • Eugene M. Helveston, M.D., Residency ‘66, emeritus professor of ophthalmology at the IU School of Medicine, will be named the recipient of the 2014 Glenn W. Irwin Jr. M.D., Distinguished Faculty Award. This award recognizes faculty with outstanding service to the IU School of Medicine through dedication to students, colleagues, research or the medical profession. 
  • Daniel E. Rusyniak, M.D., Residency ‘99, associate professor of emergency medicine at the IU School of Medicine, will be named the recipient of the Early Career Achievement Award. This award recognizes outstanding accomplishments in medicine or service to the IU School of Medicine by alumni who have graduated within 15 years of the award presentation. Dr. Rusyniak is also assistant medical director of the Indiana Poison Center.

A complete schedule is online. This event is free to IUAA members and one guest. Parking will be provided at the IUPUI Riverwalk Garage, 245 University Boulevard. Attire is business casual. Register online or RSVP to IUSMalum@iupui.edu. Deadline is Friday, May 9.

For questions or to make special arrangements regarding dietary needs, contact Theresa Bell at 317-274-5060 or thebell@iupui.edu.

Read more Headlines stories »