Editor's Picks


Research teams earn $1 million in grants from IU Office of Vice President for Research

May 9, 2013

The Office of the Vice President for Research at IU has awarded IU Collaborative Research Grants to 16 teams of faculty researchers, including 11 with members from the IU School of Medicine. 

Now in its third year, the program will provide just over $1 million in seed funding to researchers from different departments, schools and campuses for transformative research projects that have a substantial chance of attracting future external funding. 

More than 275 faculty members from eight IU campuses were involved in the 108 proposals submitted for this round of awards. The teams submitting applications were required to be new collaborations working on new projects. Teams that receive IU Collaborative Research Grants are expected to submit external funding proposals within 18 months of their awards. 

"Team science is a high priority for federal funding agencies such as the National Science Foundation and National Institutes of Health," said IU Vice President for Research Jorge Jose. "The collaborations represented in this year's grants are outstanding examples of how IU faculty can work together to study important problems, further their own work and enhance Indiana University's research profile." 

Overall, 48 faculty members from a dozen schools received IU Collaborative Research Grants this year.

Each team will participate in an IUCRG Day in March 2014 to present the preliminary results of their research in an open forum. 

Teams with members from the IU School of Medicine are:

  • Nadia Carlesso, Ph.D., and Yunlong Liu, Ph.D., (IU School of Medicine) and David Skalnik, Ph.D. (School of Science, IUPUI) for “Role of the epigenetic regulator Cfp1 in hematopoietic stem cell (HSC) response to stress.”
  • Dipika Gupta, Ph.D. (IU School of Medicine, IU Northwest), and Iztok Hozo, Ph.D. (College of Arts and Sciences, IU Northwest) for “Genetic link of peptidoglycan recognition proteins with inflammatory bowel disease.”
  • Andrea G. Hohmann, Ph.D., and Yvonne Y. Lai, Ph.D., (College of Arts and Sciences, IU Bloomington) and Andy Hudmon (IU School of Medicine) for “Novel analgesic mechanisms for suppressing excessive glutamate signaling through targeted disruption of protein-protein interactions.”
  • Derek Houston, Ph.D. (IU School of Medicine), David Crandall, D.O. (School of Informatics and Computing), Tonya Bergeson-Dana, Ph.D. (IU School of Medicine) and Linda Smith, Ph.D., David Pisoni, Ph.D., and Chen Yu, Ph.D. (College of Arts and Sciences, IU Bloomington) for “A Novel Multimodal Methodology to Investigate Communicative Interactions between Parents and Deaf Infants Before and After Cochlear Implantation.”
  • Melissa Kacena, Ph.D., Michael S. Sturek, Ph.D., and Christine Boehm, VM (IU School of Medicine) and Tien-Min Gabriel Chu, D.D.S., Ph.D., (IU School of Dentistry) for “Thrombopoietic Agents in Bone Regeneration: Development of a Minipig Bone Healing Model.”
  • Christopher Lapish, Ph.D. (IU School of Science), Brian O'Donnell, Ph.D., and Dae Jin Kim, Ph.D. (College of Arts and Sciences, IU Bloomington) and Alan Breier, M.D., and Jennifer Vohs, Ph.D. (IU School of Medicine) for “Translational Biomarkers in a Rodent Model of Schizophrenia.”
  • Amber Mosley, Ph.D. (IU School of Medicine) and Andrew Kusmierczyk, Ph.D. (School of Science, IUPUI) for “Identifying post-translational modifications in protein complex assembly through STAP.”
  • Richard Nass, Ph.D. (IU School of Medicine) and Jonathan Trinidad, Ph.D. (College of Arts and Sciences, IU Bloomington) for “Posttranslational analysis in a novel genetic model of Parkinson's disease.”
  • Leonid L. Rubchinsky, Ph.D. (School of Science, IUPUI and S. Elizabeth Zauber, M.D. (IU School of Medicine) for “Relating electrophysiology and symptoms of Parkinson's disease.”
  • Brian Samuels, M.D., Ph.D., and Lyne Racette, Ph.D. (IU School of Medicine) and Gavriil Tsechpenakis, Ph.D. (School of Science, IUPUI) for “A Novel Retinal Imaging Approach to Diagnose Glaucoma.”
  • Stuart Warden, Ph.D. (IU School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences) and Teresita Bellido, Ph.D. (IU School of Medicine) for “Localizing the skeletal effects of the serotonin transporter.”
A complete list of IUCRG grant recipients and their projects abstracts is online.

Read more Grants stories »