Editor's Picks


Peer Review Mentoring Committees available to assist faculty on grant submissions

May 1, 2014

The New Peer Review and Mentoring Committees from the IU School of Medicine and Indiana Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute leverage the experience and expertise of their members successful scientists to review and advise colleagues who are working on grant proposals -- both new proposals and resubmissions. 

David Wilkes

David S. Wilkes, M.D.

Each of these committees also has a project manager and a biostatistician assigned to it to assist investigators. 

Now the National Institutes of Health, or NIH, has announced that proposals that do not get funded on resubmission no longer need to have their content and scope overhauled to be eligible for another try as a new submission.

This decision by the NIH to revise its resubmission policy makes the Peer Review and Mentoring Committees an even better deal for research faculty, said David S. Wilkes, M.D., executive associate dean for research affairs and August M. Watanabe Professor of Medical Research at the IU School of Medicine.

Effective immediately, Dr. Wilkes said that PRMCs will not only assist with grant resubmissions, but will work with investigators on submissions of “new” proposals that were previously reviewed by NIH, but not funded.

"This is an ideal opportunity for IUSM researchers to make use of the Peer Review and Mentoring Committees and their expertise," he added.

Initially, the mentoring committees are focusing on three of the IU School of Medicine’s important thematic areas:

  • Neuroscience, chaired by Michael Vasko, Ph.D., Paul Stark Professor of Pharmacology and professor of anesthesia and medicine at the IU School of Medicine;
  • Cardiovascular Disease, chaired by Michael Sturek, Ph.D., chair and professor of cellular and integrative physiology and professor of medicine at the IU School of Medicine; and
  • Obesity/Metabolism, co-chaired by Aaron Carroll, M.D., professor of pediatrics and assistant dean for research mentoring, and Rpbert Considine, Ph.D., professor of medicine and cellular and integrative physiology, both of the IU School of Medicine.

Proposals should be submitted to the Indiana CTSI HUB. For more information, email Tammy Sajdyk at tsajdyk@iu.edu.

Read more Grants stories »