Editor's Picks


IU School of Medicine professor receives 2014 Torchbearer Award

Mar. 6, 2014

Lisa Harris, M.D., associate professor of medicine at the IU School of Medicine and CEO of Eskenazi Health, was named a recipient of the 2014 Torchbearer Award from the Indiana Commission for Women on March 5 at its 10th annual awards ceremony at the Indiana Historical Society in Indianapolis.

lisa harris

Lisa Harris, M.D., center, with Stephanie Moore, left, commissioner of the Indiana Commission for Women, and Margaret Blythe, right, a former recipient of the Torchbearer Award.

The awards are the state's most prestigious recognition of women and their extraordinary efforts to make Indiana a better place to live, work and raise a family. Indiana Gov. Mike Pence, as well as many other elected and appointed officials and more than 250 members of the community, were on hand for the ceremony.

"Indiana Torchbearers are those women who have been pioneers throughout their lives or who have stepped forward as leaders by breaking down barriers to women’s full participation," said Kristin Garvey, executive director for the Indiana Commission for Women. "These women have become true beacons of light, and their stories of courage, perseverance and compassion create a lasting legacy of inspiration for us all."

A practicing physician at the Sidney and Lois Eskenazi Health Hospital (formerly Wishard Hospital) for nearly 30 years, Dr. Harris has dedicated her career to improving health care for vulnerable and underserved populations. As CEO of the nationally recognized Eskenazi Health, she leads one of America’s largest essential health care systems. She also serves on the executive committee of the United Way of Central Indiana and is serving as the 2014 chair of the American Heart Association’s Go Red for Women initiative.

Dr. Harris is also the John F. Williams Jr., M.D., Scholar and associate dean for Eskenazi Health Affairs at the IU School of Medicine.

The Indiana Commission for Women is a group committed to the full participation of women in all aspects of society. The commission works to move Indiana women forwardby understanding their needs and the needs of their families and by working strategically both within government and in our communities to help bring about positive solutions.

The other recipients of the 2014 Torchbearer Awards were 14 prominent women leaders from across the state, including Indiana Lt. Gov. Sue Ellspermann.

Read more Kudos stories »