Editor's Picks



Apr. 10, 2014

William C. Houser, M.D., volunteer clinical professor of medicine, and Mell B. Welborn, Jr., M.D., volunteer professor of surgery, have been named the recipients of the 2014 Gordon T. Herrmann Distinguished Service Award at the IU Scholl of Medicine-Evansville. Dr. Houser, who has served at IUSM-Evansville for 32 years, practices pulmonary medicine at Gateway Pulmonology. He is also involved in the Deaconess Family Practice Program and in developing teaching assignments for medical students. Dr. Welborn, who has served at IUSM-Evansville for 31 years, is the medical director for performance improvement at the Deaconess Regional Trauma Center. “With over 30 years of service, these physicians generously volunteer their time and energies to teach students across many settings, including clinical supervision, on-site clinical staffing, lectures and mentoring," said Steven Becker, M.D., associate dean and director at IUSM-Evansville, who presented the awards March 6 at the Evansville Country Club.


ACDP president-elect Michael Sturek is also a leader in the use of Ossabaw Swine to advance research on the treatment of heart disease.

Kenneth A. Kesler, M.D., professor of surgery at the IU School of Medicine, has been named the second holder of the Harris B Shumacker Professorship in Surgery effective April 1, pending Board of Trustees approval. His new faculty title will be Harris B Shumacker Professor of Surgery. Harris B Shumacker, who died in 2009, was a medical pioneer who joined IU as chair of the Department of Surgery in 1948 and brought open heart surgery to Indiana. The recipient of this professorship must be a surgeon-researcher scholar who will follow the example set by Dr. Shumacker in attracting other exceptional faculty and students to IUSM. The first holder of this professorship was John W. Brown, M.D., who is an emeritus professor.

Michael Sturek, Ph.D., chair and professor of cellular and integrative physiology and professor of medicine, has been named president-elect of the Association of Chairs of Departments of Physiology. The ACDP is the major body of leadership for physiology chairs primarily in medical schools, but members are also chairs in osteopathic schools, veterinary schools, schools of dentistry, and schools of science. The sponsoring professional organization of the ACDP is the American Physiological Society.

Emily Sims, M.D., assistant research professor of pediatrics and a physician-scientist in the Wells Center Program in Diabetes Research, has been named the recipient of the American Society for Clinical Investigation Council’s 2014 Young Physician-Scientist Award. The ASCI is an honor society of physician-scientists, those who translate findings in the laboratory to the advancement of clinical practice. Sims was awarded this honor out of 103 nominations and will be honored at the annual ASCI meeting's president’s Reception on April 25 in Chicago, IL.  


Stephen Viehwig

Stephan Viehweg, assistant research professor of pediatrics, has been named a 2014 Prestigious External Award Recognition recipient in honor of having been awarded a 2013 Executive Journey Fellowship from Lilly Endowment, Inc. PEAR recipients are faculty members who have been recognized by a national or international professional organization for their academic achievements. They signify not only the "best of the best" at IUPUI but the "best of the best" to a broader national audience as well. Viehweg is also associate director of the Riley Child Development Center, interim director of the IUPUI Center for Translating Research Into Practice and a member of the IU School of Social Work faculty. He will be honored at the Chancellor’s Academic Honors Convocation April 25 at the Hine Hall Auditorium.

Several IUSM students and residents were recently named poster session winners at the annual meeting of the American Medical Women's Association on March 13 to 16 in Washington, D.C.

  • Ashley S. Harris received first place in the case study, resident division, for the poster titled "Breast Creepy Crawlers," which was co-written with Dana Bonamino, M.D., a resident in radiology, and Theresa Rohr-Kirchgraber, M.D., associate professor of clinical pediatrics and medicine and executive director of the IU National Center of Excellence in Women's Health.
  • Sasha Wee and Leighe Lincoln, received first place in the case study, student division, for the poster titled "Leave No Stone Unturned: An Increase in Pediatric Gallstone Pancreatitis." Wee and Lincoln's case was written under the guidance of Alison Fecher, M.D. assistant professor of clinical surgery.
  • Ashley Narsinghani received second place in the in the case study, student division, for the poster titled "Legal Guardianship of Adults with Eating Disorders." Narsinghani's poster was written with resident Bridget Clark, DO, a resident in pediatric psychiatry, and Dr. Rohr-Kirchgraber.
  • Dulanji Kuruppu received third place for the case study, student division, for the posted titled "Coping with Changing Roles: When Doctors Become Patients." Kuruppu's case was written under the guidance of OBGYN Community Health faculty, Cathy Carr, M.D., an OB-GYN at Community Health, and Dr. Rohr-Kirchgraber.

The medical students were also named winners of Young Women in Science Awards for their achievements.


Read more Kudos stories »