Editor's Picks


Kovacs named inaugural Russell Professor of Cardiology

May 1, 2014

Richard J. Kovacs, M.D., has been named the first holder of the Q. E. and Sally Russell Professorship in Cardiology effective May 1, pending Board of Trustees approval. 

Richard J. Kovacs

Richard J. Kovacs, M.D.

Dr. Kovac’s new faculty title will be Q. E. and Sally Russell Professor of Cardiology. He will retain his current title of professor of clinical medicine. He also serves as clinical director of the Krannert Institute of Cardiology.

A nationally known cardiologist, Dr. Kovacs is a fellow and a member of the board of trustees for the American College of Cardiology, where he serves as chair of the anticoagulation consortium and co-chair of the Sports and Exercise Cardiology Council. He is also a fellow of the American Heart Association Council on Clinical Cardiology and a member of the American College of Sports Medicine.

In addition, Dr. Kovacs serves on the management board of the National Cardiovascular Data Registry as a member of the American Heart Association/American College of Cardiology Task Force of Practice Guidelines and as a consultant for the Cardiovascular Committee of the National Football League.

Dr. Kovacs earned his medical degree from the University of Cincinnati and a bachelor’s degree in arts from the University of Chicago. He joined the IU School of Medicine in 1986 after an internship, residency and fellowship in cardiology at the IU Medical Center, as well as service as IUMC chief cardiology fellow and chief resident in internal medicine at Indiana University Hospital. 

The Q. E. and Sally Russell Professorship in Cardiology was established in 2012 with financial
support from the Q. E. and Sally Russell Cardiology Research Fund in the IU Foundation. The
research fund was established in 1987 as a deferred gift from the estates of Q. E. Russell and
Garnet "Sally" Russell.

It is the intent of the donors that the funds will be used to support heart research at the Krannert
Institute of Cardiology, IU School of Medicine.

Read more Kudos stories »