Editor's Picks


  • Excellence in teaching

    The American Psychiatric Association has award David Diaz the Irma Bland Award for Excellence in Teaching Residents.

  • Faculty member honors

    William Tierney is among several faculty members recently honored at the IU School of Medicine.

  • Executive director

    IUSM professor Valerie P. Jackson will serve as the next executive director of the American Board of Radiology.

  • Helping hand

    IUSM-Evansville has earned a pledge of $100,000 in student scholarships from the Vanderburgh Medical Alliance.

  • Named titles

    Anthony B. Firulli, Mark H. Kaplan and Gail Habegger Vance have received named titles at the IU School of Medicine.

  • Outstanding professionals

    Flora Hammond and Lance Trexler have been named fellows of the American Congress of Rehabilitation Medicine.

  • Scholar-Innovator

    Irina Petrache has been named a recipient of the Harrington Scholar-Innovator Award.

  • Scientific honor

    Bernardino Ghetti has been named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

  • Educational appointments

    Abigail Klemsz and Michael McKenna have new appointments in the Office of Medical Student Affairs.

  • Cancer care honor

    Bryan Schneider has been named the Vera Bradley Investigator in Oncology.

  • Honors

    Valerie Smith-Gamble is among the medical school faculty members who recently earned notable honors.

  • Lifetime Achievement

    John I. Nurnberger Jr. was awarded the Snow and Ming Tsuang Lifetime Achievement Award.

  • Wall of Fame

    Five individuals were honored at the 2013 IU School of Medicine-Lafayette Wall of Fame Tribute.

  • Faculty member honors

    Raghavendra Mirmira is among several faculty members recently honored at the IU School of Medicine.

  • Otis R. Bowen Award

    Marguerite Shepard, professor emeritus of obstetrics and gynecology at IUSM, is being recognized for her work.

  • Hope on Wheels

    Three IUSM researchers have received a Hyundai Hope on Wheels grant for pediatric cancer research.

  • Honored educators

    Two IU School of Medicine faculty members have been honored for efforts to further the radiology profession.

  • Scholarship winners

    Read about the IUSM Student Research Program in Academic Medicine poster presentation and scholarship winners.

  • 'Giants of Cancer Care'

    Lawrence H. Einhorn has been honored for developing a lifesaving treatment for testicular cancer.

  • Cancer research

    Jodi Skiles has received a grant from the St. Baldrick's Foundation to advance her research on childhood cancer treatments.