Editor's Picks

News to Use

Edward C. Moore Symposium features panel of four faculty members, Jose Antonio Bowen

Mar. 28, 2013

The Edward C. Moore Symposium on Excellence in Teaching is one of IUPUI’s oldest public events, dating from the years of IUPUI’s inception. Named in honor of Edward C. Moore, former dean of the faculties, the symposium brings the Indiana higher education community together to examine the various instructional strategies that encourages student learning. 

Jose Antonio Bowen

Jose Antonio Bowen

The event is Thursday, April 4, from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. in the Campus Center

This year’s featured presentations include a keynote by Jose Antonio Bowen, Ph.D., F.R.S.A., Dean of the Meadows School of the Arts and Algur H. Meadows Chair and professor of music, author of "Teaching Naked: How Moving Technology out of Your Classroom Will Improve Student Learning."  

The symposium will host a panel of four faculty members, Amanda K. Cecil, Ph.D., Jennifer Thorington Springer, Ph.D., Jennifer Walthall, M.D., and Jeffrey X. Watt Ph.D., all of whom will introduce their teaching philosophies, describe how they have evolved as educators, and respond to audience questions. 

To learn more about this year’s symposium, including schedule, session descriptions, and registration information, please visit the Edward C. Moore Symposium website

This event is sponsored by the Center for Teaching and Learning, the Office for Faculty Affairs and Professional Development, and Faculty Colloquium on Excellence in Teaching

Read more News to Use stories »