Editor's Picks


Nominations sought for excellent teachers, alumni

Feb. 20, 2014

IUSM Alumni Awards

Each year the IU School of Medicine Alumni Association recognizes IU School of Medicine alumni who excel in their career with three distinct awards: Glenn W. Irwin Jr., MD Distinguished Alumni Award; Early Career Achievement Award, and Distinguished Alumni Award.

Nominations are due at 5 p.m. Friday, Feb. 21. An online PDF contains more information on how to complete a nomination.

For these awards, an alumnus is defined as a graduate or former trainee of the IU School of Medicine; former residents and fellows are considered alumni of the school. (A list of past award recipients is online.) Award recipients will be recognized at the IU School of Medicine Strawberry Shortcake Alumni Awards Luncheon at the NCAA on May 17.

Questions to jtlittle@iupui.edu.

Trustee Teaching Awards

The nomination deadline for the annual IU Trustee Teaching Awards is Wednesday, Feb. 26. The primary criterion for this honor is excellence in teaching.

Individuals are encouraged to submit the names of eligible faculty. Nomination forms are online. When submitting a nomination, individuals must include their university status (student, resident, fellow or faculty) and indicate the nominee’s department in addition to their name. The form also asks nominators to offer words of support for the nominee. Specific comments about why the faculty member is deserving of this recognition are highly encouraged.  

It's estimated about 55 outstanding teachers from the IU School of Medicine will receive awards this year.

Questions may be sent to ofapd@iupui.edu.

Read more Opportunities stories »