Weekly Features


Drs. Broxmeyer and Roodman named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science

Feb. 21, 2013

Two faculty members from the IU School of Medicine were sworn in as new fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science at the 2013 AAAS Annual Meeting Saturday, Feb. 16, in Boston.

Broxmeyer on right, AAAS President William H. Press on left

Hal Broxmeyer, on right, is seen here with AAAS president William Press at the association's annual meeting. 

Hal Edward Broxmeyer, Ph.D., Distinguished Professor and Mary Margaret Walther Professor Emeritus, and G. David Roodman, M.D., Ph.D., Kenneth Wiseman Professor of Medicine, were presented official an certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin during an invitation-only ceremony.

"There are few honors in the world of science as prestigious as being named a fellow with the American Association for the Advancement of Science," said D. Craig Brater, M.D., dean of the IU School of Medicine and vice president for university clinical affairs at IU. "The two IU School of Medicine faculty elected this year are not just influential in their respective fields but are esteemed by their colleagues at IU. I am honored to call Hal Broxmeyer and David Roodman colleagues and know that the medical school and our students have benefited from the contributions to our school and our world made by these outstanding scientists." 

Dr. Broxmeyer was recognized "for distinguished contributions to hematopoietic stem cell biology, and cytokine and chemokine actions, and particularly for initiating and advancing the field of cord blood transplantation." A pioneer in the field of umbilical cord blood stem cell transplantation, Dr. Broxmeyer was one of the first scientists to recognize the value of harvesting stem cells from cord blood. He was a member of the international team that performed the first cord blood transplant in France in 1988.

G. David Roodman

Dr. G. David Roodman is a specialist in diseases of the bone. 

Dr. Roodman was recognized “for significant contributions to research and education in cancer and bone research, especially Paget's disease." A specialist in diseases of the bone, Dr. Roodman has been at the forefront of research into understanding the role of the bone marrow microenvironment in promoting hematologic malignancies. His research also looks at osteoclasts and osteoblasts, which are responsible for bone growth and bone resorption. He also serves as the director of the clinical program at the IU Simon Cancer Center.

Drs. Broxmeyer and Roodman join 10 other IU colleagues also named AAAS Fellows for 2012. The other fellows, all of the College of Arts and Sciences at IU Bloomington, represent a record number of AAAS fellows named in a single year at IU, and two more than the record set in 2011. 

IU's additional AAAS fellows for 2013 are James Bever, Yves Brun, Gregory Demas, William "Clay" Fuqua, James Goodson from the Department of Biology, David Giedroc and Dennis Peters from the Department of Chemistry, Eliot Smith from the Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences, Julia Heiman from the Kinsey Institute and the Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences, and Karen Kafadar from the Department of Statistics, all from the IU Bloomington College of Arts and Sciences. 

The total number of AAAS Fellows affiliated with IU is 81. This year, 702 members have been awarded this honor by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. Election as an AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers. 

Founded in 1848, AAAS is the world's largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science. AAAS includes 261 affiliated societies and academies of science that serve 10 million individuals, while Science has the largest paid circulation of any peer-reviewed general science journal in the world, with an estimated total readership of 1 million. 

Read more Featured stories »