Finalists selected for IU School of Medicine dean and IU vice president for clinical affairs

Feb. 21, 2013

Finalists in the search for a new vice president for university clinical affairs at Indiana University and dean of the Indiana University School of Medicine will visit the Indianapolis campus beginning this week. The search committee, chaired by IU School of Dentistry Dean John Williams, has identified six finalists who will meet with faculty, staff, students and community members.

IU School of Medicine

Clockwise from top left: David Williams, M.D.; David Wilkes, M.D.; Anatha Shekhar, M.D., Ph.D.; Jay Hess, M.D., Ph.D.; and William Tierney, M.D.; and Stephen Strakowski, M.D.

The next vice president and dean will succeed D. Craig Brater, M.D., who will retire June 30 after 27 years of service to the School of Medicine. Brater, who has been dean since July 1, 2000, also holds the title of Walter J. Daly Professor at the School of Medicine and is vice president for university clinical affairs at IU.

The finalists and confirmed visit dates are:

David Williams, M.D., is chief of the Division of Hematology/Oncology and director of translational research at Boston Children's Hospital; associate chairman of the Department of Pediatric Oncology at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute; and Leland Fikes Professor of Pediatrics at Harvard Medical School. Dr. Wiliams visited campus on Feb. 18 and 19.

David Wilkes, M.D., is executive associate dean for research affairs, August M. Watanabe Professor of Medical Research and director of the Center for Immunobiology at the IU School of Medicine; and assistant vice president for research at IU. He will deliver a faculty forum with lunch from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Monday, Feb. 25, in the Marilyn and Eugene Glick Eye Institute, Room 103; a student forum noon to 1 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 26, in the same location and a community forum from 5 to 6 p.m. Feb. 26 in the IU Advancement Center Canal Conference Room.

Anantha Shekhar, M.D., Ph.D., is associate dean for translational research and Raymond E. Houk Professor of Psychiatry at the IU School of Medicine; director of the Indiana Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute; and assistant vice president for research at IU. Dr. Shekhar will deliver a faculty forum with lunch from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 27, in the IU Melvin and Bren Simon Cancer Center, Room 101; a student forum from noon to 1 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 28, in the Glick Eye Institute, Room 103; and a community forum from 5 to 6 p.m. Feb. 28 in the IU Advancement Center Canal Conference Room.

Jay Hess, M.D., Ph.D., MHSA, is the Carl V. Weller Professor and Chair of the Department of Pathology, and professor of internal medicine at University of Michigan Medical School; director of clinical laboratories and director of the Division of Sponsored Research, Department of Pathology, at University of Michigan Health System. Dr. Hess will visit campus Wednesday, March 6, and Thursday, March 7.

Stephen Strakowski, M.D., is the senior associate dean for research, Dr. Stanley and Mickey Kaplan Professor and chairman of psychiatry, and professor of psychology and biomedical engineering at the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine; and vice president of research at UC Health. Dr. Strakowski will visit campus Thursday, March 7, and Friday, March 8.

William Tierney, M.D., is the associate dean for clinical effectiveness research, Chancellor's Professor and Sam Regenstrief Professor of Health Services Research at the IU School of Medicine; and president and CEO of Regenstrief Institute Inc. Dr. Tierney will visit campus Monday, March 18, and Tuesday, March 19.

An external advisory committee is also working with the search committee during the process. That committee is chaired by Charles Schalliol, counsel with Faegre Baker Daniels, who was also the first president and CEO of Biocrossroads, Indiana's public-private collaboration dedicated to growing the state's life sciences economy, and a former director of the state Office of Management and Budget.

Following the finalists' visits to campus, the search committee will make further recommendations to IU Executive Vice President and IUPUI Chancellor Charles R. Bantz and President Michael A. McRobbie, who will make the final selection subject to approval by the IU Board of Trustees.

Additional community, student and faculty forum dates are to be announced. For more information about the candidates or updates on forum times and locations, visit the IUSM Dean Search Web page. Faculty or open forum attendees are asked to RSVP to Carol Mendez at mendezc@indiana.edu.

Parking for the IU Advancement Center Canal Conference Room is located approximately two blocks east at the Gateway Garage. Limited parking is available at the building.

Read more Headlines stories »