New leadership team appointed in Office of Diversity Affairs

July 17, 2014

Three IU School of Medicine faculty members have been appointed to lead the school’s diversity affairs efforts. 

Mary Austrom

Mary Guerriero Austrom, Ph.D.

Mary Guerriero Austrom, Ph.D., professor of clinical psychology and the Wesley P. Martin Professor of Alzheimer Disease Education, will serve as the associate dean of diversity affairs. Antoine Leflore, M.D., assistant professor of clinical emergency medicine, and Alvaro Tori, M.D., assistant professor of clinical pediatrics, were appointed assistant deans of diversity affairs. 

The team will join Javier Sevilla-Martir, M.D., who serves as an assistant dean of diversity affairs and associate clinical professor of family medicine. 

The team will be responsible for systemic integration of diversity efforts across all aspects of the IUSM tripartite mission of clinical service, teaching and research, including increasing emphasis on cultural competence in order to transform care at the bedside. They will work closely with the IUSM Diversity Council to craft a new institutional definition of diversity in preparation for the 2016 Liaison Committee on Medical Education visit.  

"We now have the most dynamic, diverse, talented IUSM diversity team ever," said Stephen Bogdewic, Ph.D., executive associate dean for faculty affairs and professional development. "It will be very exciting to see what the team can collectively do to greatly strengthen a culture of diversity and inclusion within the School of Medicine."

Antoine Leflore

Antoine Leflore, M.D.

Dr. Austrom’s teaching, research and clinical interests focus on aging and Alzheimer's disease. A teacher at heart, she has developed curriculum on Alzheimer's disease and aging for medical students, residents and fellows. 

Dr. Austrom chairs the IUSM Department of Psychiatry’s committee on faculty development and diversity, and she enjoys serving as a mentor to junior colleagues and learners. 

Dr. Leflore is a physician at Eskenazi Health and is the co-chair for the IUSM Department of Emergency Medicine diversity task force. He also serves as a member of IUSM’s Admissions Committee and Department of Emergency Medicine’s residency interview committee. His scholarship focuses on diversity, inclusion and cultural competency in emergency medicine.

During his training, Dr. Leflore was awarded the Resident Impact Award for his community service involvement with Department of Emergency Medicine’s advocacy program. His special interests are mentoring at-risk youth, advocacy, international health and diversity in medical education. 

Dr. Tori is an intensive care physician at Riley Hospital for Children at IU Health and focuses on teaching pediatric critical care in a family-centered care environment. He is the recipient of numerous Riley Red Shoes awards, which recognize outstanding care from patients' families. 

Alvaro Tori

Alvaro Tori, M.D.

Dr. Tori also serves as chair of Riley’s Code Committee and director of respiratory care, which focuses on improving the field of critical care medicine and improving patient safety. He mentors a diverse group of residents and fellows, which he regards as part of a personal mission to influence the next generation of practitioners and ensure diversity among their ranks.

Dr. Sevilla-Martir has developed several service-learning opportunities for engagement in the community and serving the underserved.

Dr. Sevilla-Martir is the faculty advisor for several IUSM student interest groups, including the Society of Latinos and Medical Spanish, Gold Humanism Honor Society and Global Health. His work has been recognized with multiple teaching and service awards.

In 2011, Dr. Sevilla-Martir was awarded the Joseph Taylor Excellence in Diversity Award for his work with the IUSM Student Outreach Clinic.

Read more Headlines stories »